Cheap Tickets to India
Apr 122011

Keen on attracting more tourists, the Indian government’s Visa on Arrival (VoA) program launched in January 2010 has been expanded to 11 countries from the original five (Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore).

Since January 2011, citizens from six more countries – Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Laos and Myanmar – visiting India for tourism purposes have been using the VoA scheme.

During March 2011, 1089 VoAs were issued under this program. New Zealand (222) topped the list of VoA recipients followed by Japan (213), Indonesia (193), Singapore (162), Philippines (140), Finland (110), Cambodia (30), Myanmar (8) Vietnam (7) and Luxemburg (4).

During the first quarter, a total of 2,905 VoAs were issued. New Zealand (705) was the top recipient of VoAs in the first quarter followed by Japan (583), Singapore (431), Finland (411), Philippines (392), Indonesia (296), Cambodia (42), Vietnam (19), Luxemburg (14), Myanmar (11) and Laos (1).

The maximum VoAs in the first quarter of 2011 were issued at Delhi airport (1512), followed by Mumbai (759), Chennai (474) and Kolkata (160).

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.