Oct 222014

Effective Monday, October 27, 2014, U.S. authorities will intensify monitoring of travelers from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone to prevent Ebola from spreading in America.

Travelers from the three Ebola-hit countries must report to health officials daily and take their temperature twice a day.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Wednesday that the new rules would apply both to visitors from these countries as well as returning American aid workers, journalists and U.S. health employees.

New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, New Jersey and Georgia will be the first states where the new monitoring rules kick in Monday. Most travelers from the Ebola outbreak region are headed for one of these six states.

U.S. officials have yet to decide whether the incoming travelers must report to health authorities in person, phone or via Skype.

The new steps are on top of the health screening that passengers must go through before leaving West Africa and after they reach U.S. airports

So far one person, Thomas Eric Duncan, has died of Ebola in the U.S. and two nurses who cared for Duncan got infected and remain hospitalized.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.